Stewart et al. v Commissioners: Defendants’ Motions

On Friday, Jan. 13, the four defendants in Stewart et al. v Commissioners — the Board of County Commissioners, District 2 Commissioner Thomasina Coates (D), Board of Charles County Commissioners’ President Reuben B. Collins II (D), and District 4 Commissioner Ralph E. Patterson (D) — filed motions to dismiss the

Stewart et al. v Commissioners: Complaint, Request for Expedited Hearing, and Motion to Intervene

The details about what took place in the closed session of the Board of Charles County Commissioners on Tuesday, Dec. 13, 2022, have not yet been publicly revealed, with one exception: District 1 Commissioner Gilbert Bowling III (D) and District 3 Commissioner Amanda M. Stewart (D) requested, and received, approval

Announcing a New Series: a Deep Dive Into the Court Filings in Stewart et al. v Commissioners

TLR is taking on a special project outside of its usual planning and development coverage because I believe the topic is of unusual importance to all Charles County residents who care about responsible governance, and as such requires extra scrutiny. On December 13 last year, the first open session of

Federal funding marks milestone for light rail project

Proponents of the decades-long effort to bring a light rail connection to Southern Maryland celebrated a major victory on Monday when U.S. Sen. Ben Cardin (D) and U.S. Rep. Steny Hoyer (D-Md., 5th) presented Maryland state and Charles County officials with a symbolic check for $5 million in federal funding to help kickstart the next phase of the proposed Southern Maryland Rapid Transit (SMRT) project.